Israel-Palestine News Compiler

‘It’s not easy being an Ethiopian Jew in America’

Posted in Internal Israeli Affairs, Internal Jewish Racism by beyondtheborder on April 8, 2009

“There are obvious advantages to being part of a big and influential community,” he admits. “The first time I saw a giant poster featuring a black model, I was stunned and excited that here people actually think that black sells. I wanted it to happen in Israel too. Then in the aftermath of hurricane Katrina where the blacks were neglected, I said, ‘thank God I’m Israeli.’ But when Obama won the election and all our neighbors ran down the street yelling and dancing and singing – I shouted something in Hebrew as well, something like: ‘The good guys won!’ It was perhaps the first time that I felt I belong to this fest, and I said I’m so grateful to be here to witness this historical moment.”

For full article, visit http://www.haaretz.com/hasen/spages/1077094.html

Leave a Reply

