Israel-Palestine News Compiler

Sharp rise in reports of military and police violence in the West Bank since Operation “Cast Lead”

Posted in Beatings, Abuse and Killings, The West Bank by beyondtheborder on April 8, 2009

Since the beginning of Operation “Cast Lead”, B’Tselem has documented 24 cases in which Palestinians reported being severely beaten by police officers and soldiers. As it is impossible for B’Tselem to document each and every case of violence by security forces in the West Bank, the above figures necessarily reflect only a portion of the violent incidents that actually occurred. B’Tselem referred all the documented cases to the law-enforcement authorities. Although some of the cases occurred more than two months ago, the authorities have yet to complete an investigation into a single case.

For full article, visit http://www.btselem.org/english/press_releases/20090325.asp

Excerpt from Nassim Shalaldeh’s Testimony
Age: 26 Years Old

My brother Muhammad, who sat on the ground, gave the policeman his ID card. He said, “Here it is, my identity card.” The policeman, out of nowhere, kicked him hard in the side. Muhammad cried out in pain. Sanad and I got up. I pushed the policeman, so he’d stop hitting my brother. I said, “Why are [typo in Hebrew] you beating him? He didn’t do anything. He gave you his identity card in a respectful manner.” The policeman replied, “Sit down or I’ll shoot you.” There weren’t any other policemen at the time. It was around 7:15 P.M.

For full testimony visit http://www.btselem.org/english/testimonies/20090314_BP_assault_workers_from_Sair_Witness_Nasim_Shalaldeh.asp

Excerpt from Ghassan ‘Odeh’s Testimony
Occupation: Contractor

In the meantime, some more Border Police jeeps and army jeeps arrived. Lots of people stopped and watched. People tried to get the policemen away from my sons. Muhammad managed to get away, I don’t know how. A Palestinian ambulance arrived. Mahmoud was on the ground. He was unconscious and his head was bleeding. I thought he was dead, and I started to shout, “My son is dead, my son is dead.” The officer grabbed me by the throat and choked me. I saw Mahmoud being put into the ambulance. Policemen cuffed me with plastic cuffs, blindfolded me, and took me to a jeep. I heard gunfire. I think the policemen fired in the air to move people back.

For full testimony visit http://www.btselem.org/english/testimonies/20090304_bp_assault_father_and_sons_in_huwara_witness_ghasan_odeh.asp

Leave a Reply

