Israel-Palestine News Compiler

Addameer Prisoners Support and Human Rights Association: Torture of Palestinian Political Prisoners in Israeli Prisons

Posted in Official Publications by beyondtheborder on April 17, 2009

Terror: This is usually done in the first stages of torture, by displaying the tools of torture to the prisoner, or threatening to use physical  torture. Throughout history, it has been documented that this is often enough to get a prisoner to confess. Palestinian child prisoner Wajdi Salem Najajra (17 years old), in a sworn affidavit, reported the following:

“The interrogator “Ibrahim” said to me that he had two ways to get me to confess, one was human and the other was barbaric, and he gave me the opportunity to choose one of them. When I denied the accusations he was making against me, he told me that it was time to start using the barbaric methods. He started beating me on my face and head. He then pulled me by my hair and started hitting me on my throat. After that, he picked up two electrical wires and rubbed them against each other to create a spark. He told me he would use the wires on me if I didn’t confess. He blindfolded me and cuffed my hands behind my back. Then a soldier lif ted up my shirt and Captain “Ibrahim” put the two wires on my nipples. I started shaking and screaming. Then he removed the wires and asked me if I rethought my answer. I told him that I had nothing to say. He then put the wires back onto my nipples, and I started shaking and screaming again.”

To download full report, click here.

Leave a Reply

